The Wrecking Crew

I’m sorry about the two week hiatus on Sequential Pictures. I’ve recently been assigned to a camp job for work. This means I’m in the middle of the mountains of British Columbia for two weeks or more at a time (with minimal internet access), before getting some time off. So life has been pretty crazy.

But you’re not here for me talk about work. You’re here to read about comics. The good news is that the last couple of weeks in the Great White North have given me some time to think about how I interact with comics and what I would like to do moving forward. In order to move forward, it’s time to tear everything down, thus the title and picture framing this update.
Wrecking Crew
1. No More Reviews
I don’t feel like the Wednesday Checkup is adding much in its current format. I’ll be continuing to post on Wednesdays, but only to recommend my absolute favorite titles, the things I think everyone should be reading. This isn’t about my reading habits, it’s about finding, analyzing, and learning about art.

2. Less About Industry, More About Comics
Part of analyzing comics is realizing how the sausage is made, but that doesn’t mean it’s necessary or should be a central focus. There are already lots of websites reporting on problems ranging from distribution to editorial. I don’t have any unique insight to add to this. Inevitably, industry issues will be brought up, but they don’t need to be emphasized.

3. Higher Levels of Discourse
I’d like to encourage everyone to check out this article by my favorite Film Critic, FilmCritHulk, specifically the explanation of the four levels of media consumption about a third down: http://badassdigest.com/2013/06/05/film-crit-hulk-smash-hulk-vs.-spoilers-and-the-4-levels-of-how-we-consume-a/

Here are the quick descriptions as provided by Hulk:

1. THE FIRST GROUP ARE PEOPLE WHO EXPERIENCE MOVIES IN A STATE OF CHILDLIKE NAIVETY.
2. NOW, THE SECOND GROUP OF MEDIA-CONSUMERS ARE THE PEOPLE WHO HAVE SEEN A LOT OF MEDIA AND THUS MOVED PAST THE FIRST GROUP’S INNATE TRANSFERENCE, BUT THEY STILL SEEK TO RECAPTURE THAT CHILDHOOD NAIVETY.
3. THE THIRD GROUP OF MEDIA-CONSUMERS ARE PEOPLE WHO CAN TRANSCEND THAT DESIRE FOR A PURELY CHILDLIKE EXPERIENCE BY CONTEXTUALIZING THE EMOTIONAL EXPERIENCE INTO A CEREBRALLY COHERENT PROCESS.
4. THE FOURTH GROUP OF MEDIA-CONSUMERS ARE THOSE WHO ABSOLUTELY UNDERSTAND THE CRAFT OF MAKING MEDIA

I believe this blog has always tried to actively analyze comics at level three. The goal here is to understand how and why comics affect us, in addition to enjoying really good comics. I’d also like to approach level four, but that’s going to take a lot of work and leads me to the last change…

4. It’s Time to Put My Money Where My Mouth Is
I’d like to start making comics. I want to go through the process, work with an artist, and self-publish. It’s going to take a lot of work, time, and money, but I have no doubt it will be worth the effort. In turn, I hope to share my experiences as I attempt to create my own comics with you. In the best possible outcome, this will help us all better understand and communicate about the medium on every level.

These changes are about elevating the discussions on this blog and decreasing any negativity. I really love comics and that’s what I want this site to be about. For those of you who have stuck around from the start, thanks for reading and engaging. For those of you just discovering the blog, I hope exploring how comics are made and what makes them work is something that interests you.

Because that’s what this is all about.

Thanks guys.

About chasemagnett

Chase is a mild-mannered finance guy by day and a raving comics fan by night. He has been reading comics for more than half of his life (all 23 years of it). After graduating from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln with degrees in Economics and English, he has continued to research comics while writing articles and reviews online. His favorite superhero is Superman and he'll accept no other answers. Don't ask about his favorite comic unless you're ready to spend a day discussing dozens of different titles.
This entry was posted in Comics, Odds and Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

